DomaiNesia Hosting Review Is it really the most stable?
DomaiNesia Hosting Review Is it really the most stable?

DomaiNesia Hosting Review Is it really the most stable?

Posted on

DomaiNesia Hosting Review Is it really the most stable?

reseprakyat.com-DomaiNesia has a good level of uptime stability, reliable support services, affordable hosting prices, and continues to update and improve quite consistently.

Excess
Stable average uptime with a score of 99.948%

Fast and reliable support (rating 5/5)

Have fair warranty terms (you can apply for a refund for any reason within the first 30 days)

The ‘Starter’ plan has sufficient amount of resources to build a new WordPress website

Flat hosting prices or no price increase when renewal

There are 5 choices of server locations that you can choose according to your needs (Indonesia, Singapore, America, England and Japan)

You have 2 choices of web servers that you are also free to choose as you wish: Nginx or LiteSpeed ​​Enterprise

Free migration of hosting and free domains if you choose a certain hosting package

Have a complete guide or basic knowledge

Already using the JetBackup feature in cPanel (one-click for data backup and restore needs)

Lack
Slower server response time than the average of all providers tested based on load testing

Unresponsive dashboard or client area (feels a bit slow from my testing or experience)

Ambiguous explanation of daily backups (Hint: Your website is actually only backed up every 2-3 days, not every day/daily)

DomaiNesia’s latest current hosting price (hosting 3.0) with monthly payment terms increasing from 25% compared to the previous price (hosting 2.0)

Our ratings
3 star half
Visit DomaiNesia →
Want to save on DomaiNesia hosting costs? Use the HOSTING ADVISOR coupon code when buying your hosting package and get 35% off!

List of contents:
Introduction
Summary of research data
DomaiNesia’s latest update in 2022
The advantages of using DomaiNesia
Disadvantages of using DomaiNesia
Summary of hosting package offerings
other important information
Conclusion: Do we recommend DomaiNesia?

Introduction

DomaiNesia is not a new player in the Indonesian web hosting industry.

They have been established since 2009 and claim to have served more than 200,000 customers from all over Indonesia and abroad.

Maybe most of you also know him.

This company, which is headquartered in Sleman, Yogyakarta, offers hosting prices that are cheap when I compare it to all other Indonesian web hosting, if you know that DomaiNesia has already implemented cloud hosting technology and Enterprise-grade NVMe SSD in all of its hosting packages.

And in theory, hosting providers that already use cloud technology and NVMe storage should be able to provide faster load times or speeds than those that haven’t.

Well, the question:

Does DomaiNesia have a faster load time than its competitors?
What about the uptime stability?
Support?
Those are questions worth tens of millions of rupiah.

But you don’t need to worry, because I have already purchased the DomaiNesia ‘Extra’ Hosting package and researched it for 30+ months to find answers to these questions.

I will summarize everything in full in this DomaiNesia review.

Summary of Research Results

OUR RATING 3.4/5
SAMPLE Hosting Package ‘Extra’
WEBSITE TEST www.phproject-dn.com (Shared Cloud Hosting)
UPTIME SCORE 99.948% (1 October 2021 – 30 September 2022)
AVG. RESPONSE TIMES (LOAD TESTING) 3642.86 ms (September 2022)
SUPPORT RATING Rating: 5/5 (Available via email and phone)
PRICE Starting from IDR 12,250/month (renewal: IDR 12,250/month)
Unconditional 30 day warranty
The DomaiNesia hosting package that I am reviewing here is the ‘Extra’ version 2.0 package which is out of date. If you make a new purchase, you will get the latest version of the hosting package, which is 3.0 with slightly different specifications and performance from the previous version.

Latest Update from DomaiNesia in 2023

One of the good things about DomaiNesia is their commitment to continuous upgrades and improvements to the hosting services offered.

In 2022, they made several significant updates, including upgrading their web hosting package from 2.0 to 3.0 and adding a WordPress hosting package with LiteSpeed ​​Enterprise. This provides flexibility that is rarely found in other hosting providers.

Reportedly they have done a lot of updates and fixes that make server performance faster than before.

However, unfortunately, I have no information regarding the upgrades made to their server hardware. As far as I can remember, while writing hosting reviews since mid-2016, I have never seen another hosting provider upgrade on the hardware side.

Advantages of Using DomaiNesia

After reviewing various hosting providers, I can conclude that DomaiNesia has the most advantages and stands out compared to other providers.

Stable Average Uptime

  1. Stable Average Uptime
    Based on the research results for the November 2022 update, I found that only two out of 16 shared hosting providers in Indonesia were able to keep their servers ‘live’ with ideal uptime, namely IdCloudHost and DomaiNesia.

DomaiNesia’s average uptime is stable with an average of 99.948% or the #2 best after IdCloudHost (99.961%).

Here’s a breakdown of DomaiNesia’s average uptime from month to month:

UPTIME AVERAGE PERIOD
October 2021 99.98%
November 2021 100.00%
December 2021 99.99%
January 2022 99.96%
February 2022 99.92%
March 2022 99.98%
April 2022 99.99%
May 202 99.99%
June 2022 99.98%
July 2022 99.89%
August 2022 99.97%
September 2022 99.710%
October 2022 99.96%
I am quite impressed how DomaiNesia has been able to keep its servers stable in the last 13 months. This shows that DomaiNesia can be relied upon in providing stable connectivity or minimal downtime.

Have 2 Web Server Options that you can choose according to your needs

  1. Have 2 Web Server Options that you can choose according to your needs
    DomaiNesia has released a new product, namely WordPress Hosting which uses a web server from LiteSpeed ​​Enterprise. This is an advantage for some users who rely on WordPress to create their website.

Today, LiteSpeed ​​is like a new standard in the web hosting industry. I think it can be equated with a standard control panel that must use cPanel. So, knowing that they have made it available to users, I think this is great news.

If you don’t want LiteSpeed, they also still provide the Nginx web server which they have upgraded to version 3.0.

Hosting Providers with Good and Reliable Support Services (Rating: 5/5)

  1. Hosting Providers with Good and Reliable Support Services (Rating: 5/5)
    There are three indicators that determine the quality of support services: knowledge, friendliness, speed and of course support available 24/7.

To test how good DomaiNesia’s support service is, I have tested it via live chat and support tickets.

From 2019 to 2023, we have conducted 4 tests. One time every year. The goal is to see if there is an improvement in the quality of DomaiNesia support services every year.

First Test – 2019

Second Test – 2020

I have tested it 4 times, but the quality of support from DomaiNesia always impresses me. Their support is still as good as the previous tests and this can be seen from their dedication as a passionate provider as they claim.

In fact, there isn’t much support from Indonesian hosting providers that I like.

My favorites are DomaiNesia and Jetorbit. They are the best examples in terms of support and are the most appropriate choice for users who are truly beginners or total newbies in the world of hosting and websites.

DomaiNesia’s ‘Starter’ Package or Cheapest Package Gets Enough Hosting Resources to Create a New Website

  1. DomaiNesia’s ‘Starter’ Package or Cheapest Package Gets Enough Hosting Resources to Create a New Website
    The DomaiNesia Starter Package offers 600 MB Cloud SSD with unlimited bandwidth, 75% CPU (I don’t know what that means, maybe 0.75 Cores), and 512MB RAM which is enough for creating a new website.

However, if you want to get even better performance, I suggest choosing at least the ‘Super’ or ‘Monster’ packages.

Compared to its competitors, DomaiNesia’s hosting prices are cheap, considering they already use NVMe SSD in their storage.

In addition, features such as SSL, JetBackup, Imunify360, CageFS, and other security features can be enjoyed on all hosting packages, even starter packages.

The renewal price is flat according to the payment cycle

  1. The renewal price is flat according to the payment cycle
    Usually the renewal price is more expensive than the initial price. The difference can be up to 4x. Especially if you buy it at a discount or promo.

Fortunately, at DomaiNesia, the renewal price is flat, following the payment cycle.

For example, you choose to subscribe for 1 year to the ‘Starter’ package at a price of IDR 14,000/month, then at the time of renewal the following year, the price will still be IDR 14,000/month following the renewal cycle.

Even if you use a discount coupon at the start of your purchase, for example a 35% discount, then when you renew your hosting price it will still be 35% off or it will also apply at the time of renewal.

Free Migration Hosting and Free Domain

  1. Free Migration Hosting and Free Domain
    Just like most of the other best web hosting, DomaiNesia also has a free hosting migration offer for those of you who plan to move house to DomaiNesia.

You’ll even get a year of free domains for whatever hosting plan you choose. The conditions are as follows:

Starter Package: Free domain extension .xyz, / my.id / .cloud.
Super Package and above: Free domain with extensions .com, .online, .web.id, and others

Has Complete Guidelines and Documentation

  1. Has Complete Guidelines and Documentation
    DomaiNesia is more than 10 years old, it’s no wonder they have collected a lot of complete documentation and guides.

I’ve checked, there are hundreds of tutorials you can learn about DomaiNesia domains, hosting and user guides.

I also see that they are actively adding content.

You can learn many things, starting from hosting, domains, email, SSL and others for free.

30 Days Warranty Period With Fair Conditions

  1. 30 Days Warranty Period With Fair Conditions
    Previously, DomaiNesia only offered a very short warranty period of only 10 days. However, now DomaiNesia has shown their commitment to customer satisfaction by increasing the warranty period to 30 days. This is a significant change and I think it’s a very good thing considering the standard warranty in the industry is 30 days.

Not only that:

The refund guarantee is unconditional and free for customers to do without the need for them to try to resolve customer complaints (no questions asked). I’m glad that DomaiNesia has also improved its warranty conditions like this, which has been done by other providers, such as Jogja Host & ArdetaMedia, and Hostinger & Niagahoster.
And another advantage is that customers are free to make refunds, whether it’s the first order or the 2nd, 3rd, 4th order or after. That is, unlike other providers where the guarantee only applies to the first order.
Two thumbs up for DomaiNesia. Hopefully other providers also make the same improvement.

Disadvantages of Using DomaiNesia

DomaiNesia is a great hosting choice. They have more advantages than all the providers that I reviewed.

However, no hosting provider is without flaws. There must always be a shortage.

In my notes, there are at least five drawbacks of DomaiNesia that you need to pay attention to:

Hosting with a Slow Average Server Response Time

  1. Hosting with a Slow Average Server Response Time
    Website speed is the second factor that you should consider after uptime.

If you find a hosting provider with a stable or rarely down server uptime, but if the server is unresponsive or slow, then that’s a lie. To support business activities, you need both, namely a stable and fast server.

In searching, I found the shared cloud hosting server specifications used by DomaiNesia are as follows:

Web Server: Nginx
Storage: NVMe SSD
CPU Model: Intel Xeon E5-2680v3
Physical RAM: DDR4 ECC 2133Mhz
Control panel: cPanel

When compared to 21 other providers, I consider that DomaiNesia’s server specifications are quite OK, although not the one with the highest power in terms of hardware.

The advantage is that they have used NVMe SSD on their storage. This is a plus point, because out of all the cheap shared hosting plans I researched, not many use NVMe SSDs.

So, how is DomaiNesia’s server performance compared to 15 other providers?

To find out its reliability, I did a load test using an open source application, namely Locust.io.

This tool will measure how much server response time it takes to handle busy traffic. It can also detect if the server is experiencing an overload which can cause the server to go down.

In this test, I didn’t implement caching and opcache, so the results you get can actually be even better if your website has been optimized. This test is only to measure server performance, that’s why caching is not allowed in this test.

I made the standard 2 seconds with 10 virtual users. That is, 2 seconds is the maximum time limit to handle 10 traffic that comes together. If it’s more than 2 seconds, then I categorize it as slow or slow server response. If less than that, then it is included in the fast category.

So, how is the performance of the DomaiNesia ‘Extra Package’ hosting that I use in handling 10 virtual users?

Ideally, the server response time remains stable as the number of virtual users increases. However, in the graph above, it can be seen that the response time of the DomaiNesia server has actually increased as the number of virtual users has increased.

In 15 other tests, I found that only 1 provider was successful in this load test, namely Dewabiz. No wonder because they do have the most powerful server hardware specifications compared to their competitors.

From testing, the average DomaiNesia response time is 3642.86 ms or around 3.6 seconds. The time record is bad or it only ranks #14 out of 16 providers tested.

Regarding this long server response time, Mas Willih Angga had sent me an email informing me that they had formulated a new nginx tweak which seemed to improve performance in load testing, but our team had not had time to retest it.

And please note, we also haven’t done performance testing on the new DomaiNesia WordPress hosting package. So, we can’t conclude anything.

By the way, in September 2021 and April 2022, I also had time to test TTFB (time to first byte) for all providers including DomaiNesia.

If you don’t know yet, this TTFB is a measure of the speed of the hosting server and has a close relationship with the server. That is, the speed of the hosting server itself can be judged from the TTFB. Sooner or later it can be measured using this TTFB.

In the two TTFB tests, I also didn’t implement cache and opcache, let alone CDN, so it was purely to measure server response speed without being influenced by the ‘X’ factor.

The tool I use is GTMetrix Pro and it is monitored from the Singapore server location. On average, all website tests were tested 191 times with an interval of once every 1 hour.

DomaiNesia’s TTFB average is 311 ms (fastest #7 and the value is above average) and during 7 days of monitoring the server response speed looks quite stable with the highest rate of 893 ms and the lowest of 247 ms. I think it falls into the ‘Fast Enough’ category.

No Monthly Payment Options

  1. No Monthly Payment Options
    Actually there is. However, the price of the latest 3.0 hosting, if paid on a monthly basis, will be very expensive. Rises start at 25%.

The question is, who wants to pay regularly on a monthly basis? I think there will be a lot of people who are reluctant.

This price increase is clearly not profitable for some users who prefer to pay monthly.

Ambiguous Explanations Regarding Daily Backups

  1. Ambiguous Explanations Regarding Daily Backups
    DomaiNesia says it will back up your website on a daily, weekly and monthly basis.

But if you examine it again, the point is that it doesn’t mean that your website will be backed up every day, but every 2-3 days, while for weekly every Sunday – Monday, and monthly backups every 30/31/1 of every month (not sure).

There should be three backup files if it’s true that the backup is done:

Daily backups every 2-3 days
Weekly backups every Sunday – Monday
And monthly backups
However, I don’t see any monthly backups performed on 1/30/31. In fact, there are only two backup files as seen in the screenshot below:

The good news is that currently DomaiNesia already uses JetBackup where the backup and restore process can be done easily without the need to manually download the backup file first.

Unresponsive Client Area (feels a bit slow from testing or my experience)

  1. Unresponsive Client Area (feels a bit slow from testing or my experience)
    The Client Area offered by DomaiNesia is quite good, because it has an intuitive interface and is easy to use.

However, I found that the responsiveness was less than optimal when compared to the client area owned by other hosting providers. In the tests that I did or my own experience, it feels a bit slow compared to the standards offered by other providers.

Even so, this does not reduce the quality of services offered by DomaiNesia as a whole.

There is a ‘Bug’ When Installing WordPress Through Softaculous

  1. There is a ‘Bug’ When Installing WordPress Through Softaculous
    When writing this update review, I haven’t had the chance to check whether the bug I mentioned has been fixed or not. However, there may be visitors who have the latest information on the status of the bug fix. I will be very grateful if you can share information with me and other visitors through the comments below.

When I tried to install WordPress through Softaculous, I found some annoying bugs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *